7ECA vs 7GCAA

dillardrg

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Ron Dillard
7ECA vs 7GCAA

I, with partners, own a 1974 7ECA 115hp and a friend and her husband have recently purchased a 2002 7GCAA 160hp.
I had the opportunity this weekend to fly each of these aircraft and have some observations;

7GCAA leaps off the runway much quicker and climbs at around 1200fpm initially.
The 7ECA takes probably 3 times the runway to get off and climbs at about 7-800 fpm initially.
40 degrees F and me and 3/4 fuel.

7GCAA cruises at 2,000ft at 2400 rpm at 120 mph indicated.
7ECA cruises at 2,000ft at 2500 rpm at 105 mph indicated.
They both land the same.

When doing a loop, I have to dive to get 140 mph entry speed and the 7GCAA takes less altitude to do this so it ends up using about 200ft less altitude to do a loop and the extra power makes a difference over the top.

I am not a test pilot and am a self taught aerobatic pilot:yikes: so my observations are just that. Your mileage may vary.

I still like my 7ECA even though it takes about 3 times as long to get back to altitude after a maneuver. The 7GCAA is a reeeealy nice airplane
icon10.gif

Ron
advancedtailwheeltraining.com

Bruce,

Good web site, it looks like you perform a needed service in working on special FAA medical problems.

In this particular instance(or my situation) there are 3 substitutes for power;
Patience, it just takes longer to get some things done.
Energy management, working harder to get everything out of the available power.
Less cost, my airplane is older and burns less gas so acquisition cost and operating costs are lower.
In a perfect world I would buy a brand new 7GCAA, but in my case, it is far from perfect.:no:

I wondered about the 115hp. A friend had one and said the 150 was needed.

And with age, the number of things that take longer increase geometrically. Whippersnapper.:rofl:

Bruce,