496 XM weather issues

Dave Siciliano

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
Dave Siciliano
Several folks on another board have had XM weather issues on their Garmin 496 units since the first. If you have a critical flight coming up, it might be worth a check if you will be depending upon it.

My 496 didn't work yesterday on flights from SC to FL to TX. I spent over 30 minutes on the phone with someone in Manila; got cut off twice until finally getting there. Said my CC expired, but they had just billed me for the quarter.

Finally got me to a tech guy who was nice, but he said he couldn't reactivate it; they had taken that away from him. He could only put in a request. I had passengers on the ramp waiting in FL while I held and held.
Told them I was a pilot trying to depart and got this: oh! You fly airplanes? Where? etc, from Manila. I asked if they could just get it working.

The tech guy told me I had to do certain things on the unit once it was reactivated, but I would have to get that from Garmin. It wasn't in my 496 manual; it was in a supplement which I wasn't carrying.

All this with low IFR most of the flight and through some pretty good sized storms in LA on the way to Dallas.

Not good.

Best,

Dave

If you have a critical flight coming up, it might be worth a check if you will be depending upon it.

XM weather, or any broadcast type weather shouldn't be relied upon if you have a "critical flight".

Granted, XM weather makes a good supplement to flight planning, but that's it.

XM weather, or any broadcast type weather shouldn't be relied upon if you have a "critical flight".

He didn't mean that. One could argue that you don't need every piece of equipment in your airplane working before flying.

Smart pilots, like Dave, realize if they have the equipment they should start the flight with it working. No reason to put yourself at a disadvantage by launching with inoperative equipment that you paid good money for.