3rd class privileges and a glider rating

Matthew

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
Matthew
A buddy of mine is a PP-ASEL, but hasn't flown in at least 20 yrs, maybe more.

He knows I'm a pilot and he keeps getting the itch to fly again. I told him about our local glider club where I'm just about to join, and he's pretty interested in checking into it.

My questions - his medical has long since lapsed and he's had enough medical/physical problems over the last few years that I am not sure he would qualify for his medical renewal, or if he did, that he would think it would be worth the trouble to pursue.

Since he has his certificate, the glider rating would be an add-on to his private certificate. Would any of the training for that rating, or solo, or post-checkride ever result in him 'exercising the privileges' of his 3rd class and thus require a valid medical?

I'm pretty sure it wouldn't, but I can't figure out a simple way to explain it to him.

there are no medical certificate requirements for gliders. only the general requirement that all pilots have to self certify we are healthy enough to safely fly. Also, the issues with denied medicals etc. that effect sport pilots do not apply to glider pilots. so no, he will in no way shape or form ever need a medical certificate to get his glider add on.

Flying gliders does NOT require a medical. As long as he does not fly aircraft he should be ok. Interestingly enough, he would be able to fly motorgliders as long as they are certified as a glider instead of an aircraft without the medical as well.

hope this helps

Thanks for the quick responses - I was getting hung up on the rating being added to the PP. Then using that rating without the same requirements as the underlying certificate.

A buddy of his took him up for a bit the other day in an old Taylorcraft - he was telling me about it a couple days ago and I saw that look in his eyes. I'll talk to him some more today about gliders.