152 Master Cylinder Bracket

dell30rb

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
Ren
Got an airplane in annual now... The master cylinder bracket(s) are worn out. With 10,000 hours and most of that as a trainer, I am not surprised.

Mechanic says he has never seen this problem and has been working hard to find replacement brackets - he has not been able to locate them yet. Anyone dealt with this problem before?

Got an airplane in annual now... The master cylinder bracket(s) are worn out. With 10,000 hours and most of that as a trainer, I am not surprised.

Mechanic says he has never seen this problem and has been working hard to find replacement brackets - he has not been able to locate them yet. Anyone dealt with this problem before?

Yes most of the older 170/172 aircraft have this problem, we repair them by welding a washer on each side of the worn hole.

an aluminum washer? what grade? TIG welding I am guessing

thanks a lot for the help.. any details you can provide i'll pass on :)

When I spoke to the mechanic earlier it sounded like the bracket itself - not just the holes - was cracking.

I haven't seen it.. unfortunately the airplane is 2 hours from where I live right now.

Last edited:
an aluminum washer? what grade? TIG welding I am guessing

thanks a lot for the help.. any details you can provide i'll pass on :)

When I spoke to the mechanic earlier it sounded like the bracket itself - not just the holes - was cracking.

I haven't seen it.. unfortunately the airplane is 2 hours from where I live right now.
Are you referring to the lower attachment point ?
or the upper that is attached to the rudder pedal?

IIRC the newer Cessnas had aluminum bracketry for the master cylinder's lower mount. The holes wear out and sometimes the whole bracket comes loose.

Dan

IIRC the newer Cessnas had aluminum bracketry for the master cylinder's lower mount. The holes wear out and sometimes the whole bracket comes loose.

Dan