12 miles WNW of a controlled field, way off centerline, and told to make "straight-in approach"

allPrimes

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
allPrimes
I'm a low-ish time private pilot. I know "straight-in approach is in the pilot/controller glossary:

upload_2022-10-31_16-37-47.png

I was about 12 miles WNW of KBZN and Big Sky Approach had just handed me off to tower. Tower said "continue for straight-in approach" for runway 12.

Would you interpret this to mean that I should have made a base turn 12 miles out from the runway, then turn final, or literally continue straight in from where I was?

I continued literally straight in as controller said "continue for straight-in approach" and there was no issue. I've been coming in for full-stop landings from other non-centerline approaches before and have been told "make straight-in approach" after which I have turned to intercept centerline then subsequently have been told by KBZN controllers "no need for a base, just come straight in" which has confused me.

I read the glossary as "find the centerline from wherever you are, then come in" but it seems like controllers here suggest it as "just come straight in from wherever you are."

To runway 11? Sounds like u were mostly aligned with the runway, so just shoot straight in, literally. I’m not used to getting that instruction unless I’m pretty close to being aligned with the runway already.

That happens quite often at KGTF also . Just continue on your route till it intersects the center line a then turn on to final approach.
Interesting in that KBZN is Montanas bussiest airport .
That fact came from the monthly " Montana and the Sky " publication.

That happens quite often at KGTF also . Just continue on your route till it intersects the center line a then turn on to final approach.
Interesting in that KBZN is Montanas bussiest airport .
That fact came from the monthly " Montana and the Sky " publication.

Has been for a few years now, hasn't it?