Usable fuel

Rebel Lord

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
Rebel Lord
Hello, I'm still learning my new Piper Cherokee 235. One thing that I need some help with is the usable fuel. In the POH, Checklist and owners handbook they all state that there is only 1 pint of fuel unusable in each tank, about half a gallon total. Placarded on each tank says 3 gallons unusable.

I always err on the side of caution and I'd never get that low on fuel to find out but why is there such a big discrepancy?

My Cherokee had about 2 on either side according to everything I could check. Your's is mine's big brother. Might even be using the same Hershey bar wing. Id go conservative and assume 3.

My Cherokee had about 2 on either side according to everything I could check. Your's is mine's big brother. Might even be using the same Hershey bar wing. Id go conservative and assume 3.

Yeah its pretty much the same bird just bigger engine and tip tanks

What does the TCDS for your model and serial number have to say? I would go with that number. I've glanced at the TCDS for Piper Cherokees and none of the numbers listed seem to match what either of you are saying your aircraft placards say.

What does the TCDS for your model and serial number have to say? I would go with that number. I've glanced at the TCDS for Piper Cherokees and none of the numbers listed seem to match what either of you are saying your aircraft placards say.

Thanks! this is a really cool resource I didn't know about. It says only 2.3lbs of fuel is unusable. So why would it be placarded as 3 gallons unusable? Should I go dig though the log books?

Attachments

• fuel.PNG
    fuel.PNG
    12.4 KB · Views: 26
Run a tank dry and find out. Real world data trumps documentation every time.