Electrical Gremlin at home?

SixPapaCharlie

May the force be with you
Display Name

Display name:
Sixer
I really need to join a home repair forum at this point but Pilots have a lot of answers to everything.

I go through light bulbs way too quick at home.
New bulbs burning out quickly so I switched them all to those sihtty halogen swirly tube things that take half a day to reach full brightness.

Caption straight from the box:
"Lasts up to 8 years!!!!" "Costs pennys per year"

So they burn out just as quickly as the Einstein bulbs I had been using.

Screw it, I'm a tech guy, I like robots, I can do the electric slide. I mean I'm hip ya know?

I'll switch to LED

Caption straight from the box:
"Lasts 22 years" "Generates gold coins!" "Will get you laid constantly"

At $20 / bulb, imagine how excited I am that I have now had 2 of them burn out in 3 months.

Isn't the electricity in my house some how regulated such that if more amps are being sent the ohms meter will short circu... I have no effing clue how it works.

Can I install a big dimmer switch at the curb and just dial it back a bit?
kidding.

In my last two houses, I would change light bulbs at the rate of almost never ever. Given my history with ladders (shoulder surgery is in 2 weeks by the way) it is only a matter of time before I fall off one again due to the frequency with which they are burning out in this house.

I just wanted to go green...

...For Henning

My guesses...

Excessive heat, excessive vibration, excessive voltage/spikes, water leaking from a faucet:D, loose connections(have electrician check panel lugs), ensure you have two ground rods driven 8' deep- water the soil around your ground rods weekly, cheap Chinese bulbs, cheap Chinese fixtures or children.

You just lost an a/c fan motor too. If all else fails then get the power company to connect a recorder, then you may see exactly what is happening. Here you go again with that home warranty company.