XM Weather Question

silver-eagle

En-Route
Display Name

Display name:
~John
Those that have XM Weather, what level do you have and how useful do you think it is? Are you seeing this on a portable (on the yoke), or something on the dash?

I have Aviator Lite, on a 496 mounted to the console between the seats in my Zodiac. I think it's fantastic: it allows me to keep tabs on the weather in front of me, and lets me make decisions enroute on whether it's safe to continue. This lets me launch and get some of the way to my destination, even if the weather looks iffy.

I'm a VFR pilot. That means I don't use it for thunderstorm avoidance, or indeed, weather avoidance, beyond "oh, the weather ahead is getting crummy, time to land now and rethink". I also do not use it as a substitute for looking in front of me. If I don't like what I see out the front, I land anyway, even if the XM is showing it's clear.

It's another tool in the toolbox, but one I consider essential.

I have XM on a Garmin 530/430 combo. It works great, along with the on-screen Strike Finder. Also, it's kind of nice to have the XM radio when doing those long cross countries. As others have said extensively, there is a lag, and I also have on board radar. The nexrad picture is great for the strategic view, but on-board radar is critical for the close up view.

I have the full aviator package on an MX20 MFD. It has totally spoiled me. Yeah, you shouldn't use it to squeeze between two cells 5 miles apart, but it has made many flight completions (and initiations, for that matter) possible that couldn't have been made without it. Mooney pilots like to go fast and far. We are also known to be cheap. With this in mind the money spent on the XM weather has been well worth it!YRMV

ive been getting very used to having the 396 in the 421 on flights, and i dont really like doing substantial XC flying without it now.