Would training in an LSA make you a better pilot?

N918KT

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
KT
As you may know, flying an LSA takes much less control movements and the LSA is lighter, and thus subjected to more effects of winds.

Would training in an LSA make you a better pilot? If so, do you think all pilots should start their training in an LSA (if there is one around nearby their location) so that when they transition to traditional GA aircraft, it will be easy?

Why does it take less control movements?

Compared to what?

Why does it take less control movements?

Compared to what?

Because LSAs are lighter than GA airplanes, it would take little adjustments to the controls during flight, and the controls feels lighter too.

I am comparing it to traditional GA airplanes.

I started training years and years ago on European ultralights which are pretty close to LSAs, only lighter (450kg MTOW). They are different, and I would say more demanding to fly than an average GA plane. GA planes are alot easier to trim and cruise in, and are much more forgiving on landings.

I wouldn't say you will become a better pilot if you train in them. If you jump from an LSA to a 172, you will overcorrect it all the time and end up jumping up and down in it because the style you fly them is different.

Not sure about LSA, but from everything I have read and been told learning to fly a tailwheel will improve your stick and rudder skills a lot. As for a better pilot, it seems to me that stick and rudder skills are just one part, albeit an important part, of being a better pilot.

Weight is only one of many factors that affect how an aircraft behaves, and what kind of skills it builds in a pilot. I think it would be silly to say that an LSA, just because it's an LSA, would make a better pilot.

Gliders, tailwheel, heavy aircraft. They all make you a better pilot if you fly them often enough.

Best idea yet? Learn in a motor glider, or an LSA tailwheel like the Texas Cub.

No.