Why do people hate Vista?

woodstock

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
iTravel
I have Vista on my new cheapie laptop, and other than the fact that I had to upgrade to 2mb of RAM, it seems to work just fine for my needs - strictly photos and surfing. I don't have any programs loaded though, not even photoshop (and I don't have photoshop on my XP laptop either, so I cannot compare...)

Are newer Vista systems better?

I have a new desktop which came with Vista 64 and I think it's fine. Some older programs need a patch to run on Vista but I didn't load that many old programs onto it. I'm not a techie by any means and I didn't need any help setting up the computer.

The main problem I had is that I have a Palm TX and Palm did not create software to sync it with 64 bit computers through the USB cable. According to their web site and forums they do not intend to do so in the future either. I consider this more a problem with Palm than with Vista and I will never buy another Palm product.

Beth: There are entire threads on the problems. Many installation issues when folks upgraded and many with backward compatibility.

I'm not a techie, but have stayed with XP until the smoke clears. They are already working on a new OS; some folks including a WSJ article state it's because they have resigned to the fact Vista had so many issues. If you recall, it was mainly marketed as having much better security features; geared to larger users. I'm not big, and didn't need to upgrade to that.

When I purchased my laptop, MS was trying to disallow folks from installing XP; trying to push to Vista. There was so much resistance, MS relented.

Best,

Dave

The problem is that some of our particularly old stuff (hardware) and a some software don't work with it. There are several pieces of hardware like scanners and old printers that did not work with Vista for almost a year as we waited for the companies to rewrite stuff.