Whether to wait or find a new CFI...

Skyscraper

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
Skyscraper
So here's my story:

I'm a student with my solo endorsement. Got about 27 hours logged as PIC. Still have some CFI hours that I need as well as practicing things I'm not comfortable doing alone yet (stalls, x-country etc.). My instructor lives in Florida for part of the year and won't be returning until the end of June.

I really like my CFI, he's a great instructor and reasonably priced. I just feel a little too anxious to miss out on a good chunk of Summer flying that I could be doing if I get my PPL sooner. I have access to my own C150 so I would strictly be paying for the CFI's time (and fuel of course).

It's not that I want to rush anything, I just know I could finish my hours and training within the next six weeks or so and be on my way if I hired another instructor.

Thoughts? Am I just being too anxious? The one advantage I could see to hiring another CFI is that I'd be exposed to another style of teaching which I figure has to be a good thing. And it's not like I can't still hire my usual CFI for other training should I want to add another rating down the road...

Whatchall think?

I think continuity is important. The costs of stopping, waiting, and starting again can be obnoxious. I did that during my ppl due to financial issues and it cost me atleast an extra $1000. not to mention you will have to re-cover maneuvers, though I suspect a new instructor will make you do this as well. I would consider another instructor if there is one that is as good.

Try another instructor. I thought my first instructor was good until he left and I went to another one for instrument training, and then I realized the first one wasn't as good as I thought.

Try another CFI. Maybe two.
What's the worst that can happen?

You don't find someone you like, you can always wait until your current CFI returns.