When can I log instrument approaches for currency?

rheise

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
High Z Flyer
I am a new IR pilot and have the question about when an instrument approach can be logged to satisfy the currency requirements? I am talking about non-simulated approaches.

Almost all the cross-country flights I have taken in the last few months since getting my rating have been on instrument flight plans, and I have been even able to log a couple of hours of actual IMC, but it has been primarily at altitude.

I always ask for an instrument approach into the destination instead of a visual approach, but if I am in VMC, I don't think it can be logged as satisfying currency.

I have had one pilot tell me I need to be in IMC at least until the FAF to be able to log the approach, but is there any rule that specifies when a non-simulated approach can be logged?

Thanks for any responses!!

Robert

Hey Robert, Welcome to the board!

Per 61.57(c), the only requirement is they must be under actual or simulated conditions (view limiting device). There's nothing regarding approaches acceptable in actual or simulated being down to only the FAF. Fly it to minimums or slightly above at the very least to give you the most realistic experience. You can also log them on an approved flight training device.

If you haven't had much experience flying in actual, I'd suggest getting with a good CFII and flying approaches in actual instrument conditions for a couple flights.

Thanks Ken for the response and welcome. It is nice to find an active community of pilots to talk with.

I guess it then begs the question, do most pilots have to do simulated approaches with a safety pilot to keep current?

My own personal minimums for now are 500 ft above minimums and 2 miles, so for a 200 ft ILS, that would be 700 ft AGL.