Wheel Landings

vkhosid

Cleared for Takeoff
Display Name

Display name:
94V
Hey guys,

Just happened to come across this place on my search for tips and advice regarding landing techniques.

So, the quick version is this: I've been flying for about 9 months now, and am able to fly (on average) about once a week. I've accrued 33 hours now, have solo'd and and working on my XC with the instructor. I am flying a 1946 C140 and could use some advice/tips/anecdotes regarding the wheel landing.

The 3-pointers aren't bad, but its the wheel landings that need work. Every time I reach the point where I should flare, I keep getting the feeling that the sink rate of the plane is too high. In turn, I just say "forget it" with the wheel landing and transition straight into the 3-point attitude to land the plane safely. Perhaps its just me, and the sink rate is fine? Perhaps I'm doing something wrong? Perhaps i'm just more comfortable with the 3 point landings so I just go with those?

What says you guys?

Hi, by the way!!!! I'm Vlad

In a wheel landing, adjust the sink rate with throttle. One of my regular planes is a 1946 C-140. I find that setting up on "best glide attitude": wings flat, 70mph, no flaps and keeping 1100-1200rpm works well for most of the approach, then just a brief blip of throttle over the threshold and rolling the yoke forward works wonderfully in the 140.

Don't flare for a wheels landing in the 140.

In a wheel landing, adjust the sink rate with throttle. One of my regular planes is a 1946 C-140. I find that setting up on "best glide attitude": wings flat, 70mph, no flaps and keeping 1100-1200rpm works well for most of the approach, then just a brief blip of throttle over the threshold and rolling the yoke forward works wonderfully in the 140.

Don't flare for a wheels landing in the 140.

No flaps?? I've always been instructed to put in about 50% of flaps right before the turn to base, and then the rest of the flaps right before the turn to final.