What time for multi commercial must be with an instructor?

Warrant

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Warrant
I am looking for clarification on how much of the time requirements listed in 61.129 for initial multi engine commercial rating must be with an instructor? Specifically the 20 hours of 61.129, b, (3)?

At first I thought of those 20 hours, only the 3 in (v) need to be with instructor in preparation for the test (obviously you would need more to be proficient for the test)

However now I am wondering if all 20 hours need to be with an instructor because in (3) it says 20 hours of training, in the areas listed in 61.127, which goes on saying ground and flight training from an instructor.

I am trying to figure out if the instructor needs to be with on those cross country flights, hence making it cheaper that I don't have to pay him 60 bucks/hr to ride along.

Here is what I am getting at. I am a 240 hour private pilot with my instrument rating (I also have all my cross country done for the single commercial) and I am part of a flying club with fixed gear 172's and 182's, I am trying to plan out my ratings and working the numbers to see if it would be beneficial to do my multi commercial first. Now this would only make sense to me if I got a multi add on (make if VFR only so it would only take about 10hrs) to my private first so all the rest of the time training for multi commercial counts as PIC, and I can fly those required multi cross country's solo.

Then just do my commercial add on in a club plane. That way I am only renting one plane - the mutli engine.

Again it might not make sense to do this since I am already ahead on the single commercial having all my (single engine) cross countrys done.

Any input on my idea would also be appreciated.

Thanks

Actually now that I read it a few more times, I believe those 20 hours do have to be dual. However the 10 hours for the 300nm cross country and the 5 for night vfr can be solo.