What do you think I should do?

ShaggyAce

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
ShaggyAce
I want to fly for an airline someday. I realize the long and arduous process but it is my dream. I'm a college freshman right now and have figured two routes for me. I can delay my education by a semester or two and join the Air National Guard while taking flight school on a private loan and continue college in a semester or two eventually applying for a flight slot. Or I can finish college as scheduled, join AFROTC and hope for a chance at a pilot slot but risk an 8 year period of Active duty. What should I do? If I choose to go the Air Guard route, I would also transfer colleges to make my commute easier to and from my guard unit easier. What should I do?

Finish college pick up ratings during the summer. Take the first flying job you can get and that will hopefully beat some sense into you.

If you consider 8 yrs of active duty a "risk," then I think you've answered your own question.

Flying for the airlines is a long and hard climb, and once you get to the top of the heap it is not as glamorous (or as well paid) as it used to be.

The union seniority systems mean that you well be laid off at least once in your career. Airline travel is cyclical in step with the economy, and for sure you have noticed the ups and downs in the economy lately.

Therefore you absolutely must have a career you can fall back on. Finish college. As others have posted, use the summers to fly.

Good luck with your career! -Skip

Flying for the airlines is a long and hard climb, and once you get to the top of the heap it is not as glamorous (or as well paid) as it used to be.

The union seniority systems mean that you well be laid off at least once in your career. Airline travel is cyclical in step with the economy, and for sure you have noticed the ups and downs in the economy lately.