waivers for minimum altitude?

shenanigans

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Shen
Is it possible to get a waiver to allow flying below 500 ft over a non congested area for a one time event? If so, how would I do that and how much of a hassle would it be?

more information needed
Where are you saying "non congested area" and what "event"?

There is nothing that says you can't fly below 500ft AGL, it says you have to stay 500ft away from people and stuff (91.119(c)) and always in a position to make a safe landing if a problem develops (91.119(a))

Ok.. 91.119(c) refers to "sparsly populated", we have a lot of that around here.
I don't think crop dusters every get ABOVE 500ft AGL.

Is it possible to get a waiver to allow flying below 500 ft over a non congested area for a one time event?

Possible? Yes. FAR 91.119 appears in FAR 91.905 List of rules subject to waivers.

If so, how would I do that and how much of a hassle would it be?

I have no experience with it, but I'd start with AIM 4−1−23. Requests for Waivers and Authorizations from Title 14, Code of Federal Regulations (14 CFR).

more information needed
Where are you saying "non congested area" and what "event"?

There is nothing that says you can't fly below 500ft AGL, it says you have to stay 500ft away from people and stuff (91.119(c)) and always in a position to make a safe landing if a problem develops (91.119(a))

It says "the aircraft may not be operated closer than 500 feet to any person, vessel, vehicle, or structure." Anything that could reasonably be called an "event" will have some of those so if the desire is to fly closer than 500 feet to them a waiver is needed.

Ok.. 91.119(c) refers to "sparsly populated", we have a lot of that around here.
I don't think crop dusters every get ABOVE 500ft AGL.
PART 137—AGRICULTURAL AIRCRAFT OPERATIONS

§ 137.49 Operations over other than congested areas.