VFR NY area

french22

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
french22
Good afternoon

I'm a french PPL pilot and I'll spend some days of holidays with family in NY area (NY city mainly, Philly, Washington). With my son (student pilot) we would like to fly instead of walking miles doing shopping with girls. Our goal is to fly the mythical VFR transit over Manhattan.

Even if I will ask for EU PPL / US PPL equivalence I will do it with a flight instructor as I lack training in US air communications. The icing on the cake would be to fly an approach at JFK: a kid's dream.

Do you have any place to recommend around NY City where to book a single engine plane with FI and prepare such flight?

Talking about shopping: do you know any brick and mortar pilot shop in NY area?

Thanks for your help

You might try Nassau Flyers at Republic Airport in Farmingdale on Long Island. It's a bit over an hour by train from Manhattan's Penn Station. Also, things will be a lot easier if you obtain your US FAA PPL on the basis of your European PPL before you arrive here.

May I suggest Farmingdale (KFRG) for your adventure. Nassau flyers has a flight school and a decent little pilot shop. Probably can get an instructor to help with your request. Not sure about the KJFK approach - really busy pace, but maybe. The VFR corridor up the Hudson is what I recommend for a fun tour.
Bon Voyage
Ben

I can't recommend a specific flight school but you just received two recomendations for one at KFRG I am sure there are also some good schools at KHPN. Any flight school in that area should be able to help you with a CFI that has experience flying the Hudson River Corridor.