Ultralights for Dummies?

lancie00

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
lancie00
I'm a VFR pilot with a couple hundred hours. I've been trying to do more flying lately but I just can't seem to afford it. I've been toying with the idea of building/buying an ultralight and keeping it at home just to "scratch the itch". I have the space for a runway, a building to keep one in, and the mechanical background for maintenance (no I'm not an A&P).

What I'm really wondering about are the requirements. I know very little about ultralights and am not sure where to start. Licensing, inspections, maintaining a "runway". Is there an "Ultralight for Dummies" somewhere that would be a good place to start. It seems like all of the forums are already way above my head or only talking maintenance.

As always, safety is the main concern but money is an issue too.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks!

EAA.org has a section devoted to UL. Should be a good place to start. Check out Branstormers.com for some for sale.

Have you read Part 103 or AC 103-7?
Not entirely. As I do more research, I'm finding that I'm probably more interested in Light Sport that ultralight. (2 seats, larger fuel tanks, etc.) That said, it looks like everyone involved has tried to make that as complicated as possible too.

really pretty simple. Keep it as close to the weight limit as possible and withing the other requirements like 5 gallons of fuel and you are good to go.
The FAA has been pretty lenient on them as far as inspections go, if it looks like an ultralight it is an ultralight is pretty much how it works. It is considered and experimental so inspections, repairs and maintenance is all up to you.
I have been seriously considering an UL just to have a toy to play with while I build my AD2. You can pick up a nice Ul for well under 5k any day of the week. For me I am looking at the Phantom/spitfire with a Rotax 503. Nice looking and built better than most since they are aerobatic.