True Confessions from an Experienced Pilot: Brain Fart Nearly Killed Me Last Night

Re: True Confessions from an Experienced Pilot: Brain Fart Nearly Killed Me Last Nigh

OP, I am a low time pilot, much lower than you. I took my wife on a pleasure flight one day last week. I made a mistake that a pre solo student shouldn't make, could have killed us, it didn't and I learned something. Moved a little bit from the luck bucket to the experience bucket, so did you.

Re: True Confessions from an Experienced Pilot: Brain Fart Nearly Killed Me Last Nigh

Just my opinion is your biggest mistake was trying to hand fly an IFR approach single pilot.
If i understood your description properly.
The professionals won't do this (135 or 121) so I won't either.
Actually, they do, and they're tested on it every six months, too. I don't even have an autopilot in my Tiger, and I fly IFR approaches all the time -- in minimum weather, even. It's a matter of practice and dedication to the craft, and since autopilots do fail from time to time, an absolutely essential skill to develop and hone. In fact, the less you fly IFR, the more you need to hand-fly your approaches so you maintain your proficiency. If you rely on your autopilot for all your IFR approaches, you need to stop flying IFR until you get your hand-flying skills back up to speed.

Last edited:

Flying at night should be treated like 'quasi' IFR, even when clear out. I realize it can be harder in congested airspace, especially altitude wise.

There was a fairly recent accident in MI where the guy drug in a longer final, got low and hit some tree tops. He also had his altimeter set incorrectly by a fair amount, to the 'high to low, look out below' side.

Unless I am in the airport area and going to land I about never fly below any obstruction or terrain at night. Yes, one may have to stay on or near an airway in the mountainous West.