Training in a Challenger II

toddie123

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Todd K
Hi everybody,

I’m currently a sport pilot, and looking to build hours inexpensively, work toward CFI-S, and earn ASES.

It seems like the challenger II may be a decent choice to meet that mission. However, a friend of mine would like to work toward earning a sport license; he offered to buy-into a challenger if I were to instruct him once I earned CFI-S.

Of the LSAs I’ve flown, there are more advanced birds (Evektor Harmony, Sportstar, RV12, Remos, CTLS). I have the strong inclination that my buddy would not develop strong aviating skills and resource management in a challenger. I also have zero clue on flight characteristics as well.

Am I overthinking this, or is my thinking sound?

Does anyone here have any two-pennies to share?

Thanks!

I flew Challengers for a number of years and instructed in them under the former exemption for part 103 as a BFI/AFI. My personal plane was a 1991 CH2CWS. Fun airplanes to fly and the long wing versions make fair trainers (clip wing versions are good trainers but can't carry as much weight). But the controls are not crisp, they have gobs of adverse yaw, and the light wing loading requires picking your days for training as the middle of the day can be quite exciting when the turbulence, winds, & thermals gang up on you.

The other part is learning to properly operate a two stroke engine. They are different and when properly maintained and managed will still sometimes punch out before the flight is over. But it does up your "engine failure, emergency landing skills" a bit. ;)

Still, flying a Challenger was a great deal of fun and taught me a lot about light aircraft with low mass & inertia. Being a pusher is different also but nothing that can't be managed ...