Train for Rotor or Wing?

bigblockz8

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Gore
I'm a fixed wing student. My true passion is helicopters. This is my little secret and now it's out. I am at a point where I am about 40% towards my goal of a PP-ASEL. I saw a 369 three weeks ago and my rotor bug has been nagging me ever since.

I initially started as a heli student and I was ready to be signed off to take the knowledge test and I had the POH remembered nearly word for word. I needed to learn wx,airspace, and VOR navigation and then my CFI would be ready to let me take my knowledge test and then we'd resume training. I had to give up on helicopters because it was a 80 mile round trip journey to the airport and my mom was not very happy about doing that drive.

I can drive now and I'm starting a collegiate training program that could get me the funds to train at the old flight school. My predicament is that I love helicopters but, I am near solo with fixed wing and the airport (where the fixed are at) has become a second home and second family. I love aircraft, don't get me wrong but, I love helicopters even more so.

I was wondering for those of you with commercial fixed and rotor ratings, which did you choose and why? I eventually want to get both in order to have an flying plan b of action if I lose one gig. Which would you recommend doing first?

I miss the R22. I had an easier learning curve and everything was natural. The college program has four options: Flight management, ATC, Flight training (rotor or fixed). I choose undecided flight training. I understand that fixed is cheaper (and I love that fact) but my main reason for being undecided is the new House Rule regarding ATP regs. I can't see how that is going to work out or if it is even going to do so. I was told that several flight students have abandoned aviation for now or have changed majors.