Tough call...

It's the losing a brother thing that pulled my heart string. If he is legit I stand by my offer to help out. I know we can't help every single vet out there...but Jesse has spoken on this guys behalf here and I'd say that's worth something.

Maybe a match of some sort? He gets his PPL at half price (sorta fitting given the story) and the GI Bill can pick up the rest?

Just spit ballin here.
Yes, it is sad that his brother didn't come home... I'm still torn. On one hand, I'd like to think we help our heroes. On the other hand, that doesn't mean "I'm a vet so my every desire is free." (Hyperbole just to make the point.) I'm still not sure what I'd do in Jesse's situation. The first thing, of course, would be to verify the story. If the guy lied, he gets nothing. Period. Beyond that, I'm not sure...

Personally, I think if you took every case like that to heart you would go nuts. I'm also a veteran, and I had a desire to fly too, and I made it happen on my own. So can he and other vets.

Not a veteran, but I agree. I would however, take him up for free and give him any advice I could. But I'd do that for anyone. If he can't afford his PPL how is he going to be able to afford to fly after that?

If he really wants to be a pilot, tell him he can get the PPL in 6mo-1yr working a job and setting a budget. If he can't handle that, he either does not want it bad enough or does not have the self-discipline. Then point him to the nearest 141 and make sure he goes somewhere that he can put his GI benefits to work. You can help him a ton just by mentoring him, and making sure his flying dollars are spent wisely.

Losing a sibling must be extremely difficult but the guy is in good health, he is capable of making his dreams come true on his own.

Last edited:
I plan on touching base with the guy again today to see what I can really verify and to try and determine how serious he is.