Tipping Your Instructor

I don't follow. Why would getting tipped for being a CFI be unprofessional?

Would it therefore also be unprofessional to accept a tip for a safe and comfortable flight for my passengers when flying charters? How about from customers when I was a Jag mechanic and they were pleased with my work? None of them ever received preferential treatment for their tips, and I handled all of them in the same, courteous manner. But I definitely appreciated the tips I got.

That reminds me of a story.

We had an owner fly with a bunch of guests so he had two planes cover it. I was the captain of one of them. The trip sheets had the owner and 4 of his guests in my plane with the other 5 in the other plane.

When the pax showed up they loaded the bags in the wrong planes. No problem, quick weight and balance and we are off with the correct pax in each plane and the other pax baggage aboard.

So we get there and I head over to the other plane to get our pax bags. As I'm rounding the other plane with my pax bags I see MY pax giving the OTHER pilot a tip. The other pilot turned it down. He declined MY (my FOs and mine) tip!!!

Not cool, IMO.

That reminds me of a story.

We had an owner fly with a bunch of guests so he had two planes cover it. I was the captain of one of them. The trip sheets had the owner and 4 of his guests in my plane with the other 5 in the other plane.

When the pax showed up they loaded the bags in the wrong planes. No problem, quick weight and balance and we are off with the correct pax in each plane and the other pax baggage aboard.

So we get there and I head over to the other plane to get our pax bags. As I'm rounding the other plane with my pax bags I see MY pax giving the OTHER pilot a tip. The other pilot turned it down. He declined MY (my FOs and mine) tip!!!

Not cool, IMO.