this guy's (thumbs up) solo videos!

As the world's best pilot, let me just say congrats on your solo...it's a fantastic life achievement.

The 'ride the wheelie' thing is a fun one in a 150/152 and you have plenty of runway since that thing will pull the nose off of the ground pretty easily. When I was a student my instructor observed that I was making great landings except once my mains touched down I would just 'give up' and release backpressure letting the nosewheel fall to the ground, instead of holding it off and gently setting it down. Riding the wheelie will help you with this, soft field takeoffs/landings and rudder control as you won't have any nosewheel steering.

I'd get a little practice with your instructor if you have not done soft/short field landings yet as i've seen a lot of damaged tail tie downs on 152's from students dragging the tail down the runway

Last edited:
I "wheelie" my R182 regularly, well every takeoff and landing. On takeoff I gently bring in back pressure until the nose wheel pressure is released. It helps keep the fragile Cessna shimney dampener in check. Just because you're "wheeling" it down the runway on take off or landing doesn't mean you're doing it so severely that the tail drags. I did it a bunch in a Warrior too, it's almost more difficult not to drag the tail in a lighter airplane because the controls are lighter.

Honestly though, you just flew an airplane, by yourself for the first time and landed on a 38' runway. You have a lot to be proud of. Congratulations.

I prefer the smaller runways because they required more attention and skill.

Great!! Come on out to KPFC:

Runway 14/32

Dimensions: 1875 x 30 ft. / 572 x 9 m
Runway edge markings: RWY 14/32 NSTD BSC MARKINGS, MARKINGS NSTD SIZE/PLACEMENT AND RWY EDGE MARKINGS
RUNWAY 14 RUNWAY 32
Gradient: 0.1% 0.1%
Traffic pattern: left left
Displaced threshold: 300 ft. no
Markings: NSTD, in good condition NSTD, in good condition