Thinking about the next plane

Topper

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Topper
I did not want to hijack the other thread and it seemed to be going a little off track.

The good news, we have a reason to travel, my partner has the budget for whatever plane we want (within reason, G5 is out, but he would consider a small jet)

The smart answer is to buy the last plane first and hire a pilot for a couple of years. My partner has a problem putting a pilot on the payroll when he would only work a few hours a week. I realize that a full time pilot does more than working the few hours that he/she is flying, but I understand his perception. We make good partners for a variety of reasons including that I am a pilot and can fly us.

Our typical mission now rarely exceeds 300 miles, we have a 182 that fits nicely. New opportunities are expanding out mission to 650-1100 miles. Typically it will only be with two or three people. It would be nice to be able to take 5 with enough fuel to get somewhere.

I am a realitively new low time pilot. Working on my IR and hope to complete it in the next few months. I have no complex time.

I think my partner is considering netjets or something similar for the longer trips. I enjoy the flying and the freedom the decide to leave in 30 minute and check the weather, check the plane and head out. I think my partner will get tired of the expense of the jet and will avoid some trips.

Ultimately I think I would like to fly a single or twin turboprop. Trying to decide how to best get there and what the next best step would be. Love the idea of a piston twin for the redundancy of the second engine. But maybe a Malibu is a better next step. Pressurization, retract, much faster, etc.