The panel things

pilotod

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
eyeflying
I'm still a student and when I fly I usually use the minimum tools necessary to get done what I need to get done. And I'm looking outside for traffic so I can't play with the options.

And the options aren't really much. There's no glass on this thing either. What I'd like to be able to do is see how all the knobs work, which ones do what but I can only do that so much when training. Even on a cross-country I thought I'd have some time to try it out but I'm a bit busy trying to keep an eye out.

Are there any videos that demonstrate the radio functions? The GPS functions? And whatever else that could be in a plane? I can read but I like to see it in action too so videos would be helpful.

Is there any way to hook your plane up to ground power? Then you could sit and play with all the knobs and buttons and stuff without the Hobbs ticking away...

Captain is right (sorry Captain if you've already told me your first name?)

A good / nice school should let you sit in the plane and "play" when it is not in use, especially if you are paying them for all your primary training. My instructor used to make me go sit in the plane before / after lessons to get used to where all the buttons were (but I didn't have GPS and didn't plug in to use the radios).

Good idea. I guess they'd have to move the plane inside or somehow connect it to external power. Since it would be on the ground there would be some limitations to using the navigation functions. I might ask if they can do that for me though.

If anyone knows of videos I'd like to check them out.

What knobs are we talking about? What are you flying, what kind of equipment, how far along are you in your training?

Microsoft flight simulator might be a big help for you...