The barrel roll

Diana

Final Approach
Display Name

Display name:
Diana
I ran across this today:

Practically speaking, while doing a barrel roll, should the ball always be centered?
Answers and opinions welcome.

I've looked through all my aerobatic books and only one mentions the ball. The rest mention being "balanced" or "coordinated". William Kershner wrote that the the ball stays in the middle.

I read that there are two different ways to look for the reference point in the barrel roll. Since I've only done a few, I'll be trying both ways to see which one works/feels better.

Y'know, of course I am no aerobatics expert (I'm still just an amateur pilot), but watching the BBC video of Bob Hoover, I suspect it's pretty close to being centered.

Just a guess, though. I've only enjoyed two incipient spins with an instructor, long ago.:dunno:

Still owns it and still work'in on keeping the ball centered when it's supposed to be centered. Haven't worked on barrel rolls lately. I'll have to get back to those.

The trick is finding time when my wife doesn't want to go up for a ride. She enjoys sight seeing way too much.:)

I guess things could be worse.

Last edited:
Also, the answer is YES! The ball should be centered throughout.

Takes lots of practice and I've found the Citabria to be more challanging than some other high performance acro aircraft.

Also, the answer is YES! The ball should be centered throughout.

Takes lots of practice and I've found the Citabria to be more challanging than some other high performance acro aircraft.
Well, I went up and tried a few today. Good thing no one was making a video of those! :redface:

Well, I went up and tried a few today. Good thing no one was making a video of those! :redface:

Just post the hammerhead video again and say they are barrel rolls. Most don't know the difference anyway.

I ran across this today: