THAT is all you do up there??

ChrisK

En-Route
Display Name

Display name:
Toph
So here I am at 51 hours. No checkride, haven't taken my written, but I'm 0.9 hours from finishing my required training. I'm scheduling the last bits around weather and my CFI's availability. I know I'll do fine on my knowledge test - just have to knock it out.

In order to stay proficient of course I'm still zooming around solo a couple times a week (while my CFI is out recovering from surgery etc). I'm racking up hours, but doing what I like to do, so it is all good. While I'm doing my solo practice I periodically play with different bits of tech. I'm a software developer with quite a bit of mobile experience, so android and iOS software intrigues me, and I like playing with Google Earth, especially when judging my power off landings in 3d (or as close as my phone's GPS can get).

So I have this up on my PC (scaled down slightly for posting):

landings.png

And now the punchline. My wife leans over, looks at the map, and says "THAT is all you've been doing up there all these hours? That's worse than running on the track!" (for reference, she's a multi-marathoner and a running coach).

/sigh

I try to explain that - no really - flying is hard work!

/sigh

That looks like fun! What are you using for logging all of the courses?

Lastly- good luck on your written, and your checkride, I hope your CFI gets back soon!

So, why haven't you completed the written?
If I was your instructor, you would be banned from further solo flight until the written is completed successfully.

So, why haven't you completed the written?
If I was your instructor, you would be banned from further solo flight until the written is completed successfully.

Maybe his instructors syllabus is like my instructors. I'm at 54 hours, Just finished my last weather module in ground and have not taken the written yet.

51 hours?

Time to take the test and check ride.