TDZE changed to THRE

dukeblue219

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
Ted
Hi folks,

I'm an instrument student ready for my check ride, and couldn't get a good answer to this question today.

I noticed with the latest approach plates that in addition to a slew of changes to the RNAV 17 at JYO, the TDZE has now become THRE, which is 5 feet lower. LPV minimums are still 250' AGL so as a result the MSL minimum is 5 feet lower. Same for the ILS. Flipping through the book I noticed a lot of airports now have THRE instead of TDZE. I get that the new number is just measured at the threshold instead of the TD zone, but I'm trying to understand why they'd change it. Is this an ongoing change the FAA is now making? Will I be able to go down to 100' above THRE if I have approach lights in sight, or is that option now gone?

Thanks

From what I have gathered it is an ICAO thing. ICAO measures from the threshold and not touchdown. So the FAA is just replacing the numbers with the "correct" ICAO measurement system. :rolleyes2: I haven't found anything about if the 100' above TDZE is gone or not. I would think you can still descend down to 100' above THRE. I think its a gray area right now. 91.175 (3)(c)(i) still states 100' above TDZE.

Here is the TERPS change eff 12/07/07 FAA wants to "harmonize" with European standards. :rolleyes2:

http://fsims.faa.gov/wdocs/orders/8260_3b-ch20.htm

Last edited:
It also appears that straight-in DH/MDA is referenced to Height above Threshold (HAT). I found this on page 8-27 of my Instrument Flying Handbook. You would think that since 91.175 (c) states:

(c) Operation below DA/ DH or MDA. Except as provided in paragraph (l) of this section, where a DA/DH or MDA is applicable, no pilot may operate an aircraft, except a military aircraft of the United States, below the authorized MDA or continue an approach below the authorized DA/DH unless—

that you can still descend below DH/MDA.