TBO

Ok, on a related note. I have been chasing a running rough issue. The engine was last rebuilt in 1988 (24 years). It is an O-320 Lycoming. It has about 800 hours since overhaul. It accumulated about 500 hours from '88 until '99 and then about 50 hours until 2010, when I bought it (10 hour pilot in training). I have since put about 260 hours on it.
-it only runs rough between 2300 and 2450 RPM.
-It has been doing this for at least 200 hours (I was a new pilot, now I am less comfortable with this issue).
-I have rebuilt the carb, rebuilt and bench tested again, installed loaner carb.
-checked thoroughly for induction leaks (found a small one; didn't fix the problem).
-Checked mags, reversed ignition harness (per SB)
-EGT climbs during the rough running area. This is pronounced when throttling back for cruise. It smooths out at about 2300 and the EGT drops again. Runs smooth at 2,500 with no issues.
-Problem manifests equally on both Mags.
-I just had to put a new cylinder on it. (Compression drop). This did not affect the problem.
-Compressions are now good and I change oil regularly with oil analysis.

My A&P is out of ideas on how to fix the issue (a very respected local shop). Should I be looking at an overhaul, since this is a 24 year old engine?
24 year old engine I would be looking at each cam lobe lift at the rocker, inspect for slack first.

24 year old engine I would be looking at each cam lobe lift at the rocker, inspect for slack first.

A bad cam will effect the engine out put at all throttle settings.

Running LOP is how Ted got his engines to go to TBO.

Negative. The 310 was acquired at TBO from a gentleman who ran ROP everywhere. He did it right, and had good reliability. We an additional 400 hours LOP with good reliability.

Negative. The 310 was acquired at TBO from a gentleman who ran ROP everywhere. He did it right, and had good reliability. We an additional 400 hours LOP with good reliability.

IO-470 ?