Tamoxifen - should I call AME

U

Unregistered

I'm a student pilot with genetic risk for breast cancer. My doctor wants me to start taking Tamoxifen to help reduce the risk. I just got my 3rd Class Medical and haven't started flying solo yet. Am I supposed to call my AME and get clearance to fly as a PIC if I start a new prescription? Or do I just wait until it's time to renew before I report it?

Based on the AOPA medications database, this requires a Physician Status Letter at minimum. But what does the letter need to say? I don't know. Seek out your AME for what information your treating doc needs to tell the FAA.

If you haven't been prescribed the drug yet, nor have taken it, you can continue to train. But as soon as you ingest the drug, additional steps may be required before you are cleared to fly.

For a more detailed answer, call your AME or reach out to AOPA's Pilot Information Center at 800/872-2672.

PS. Do stay healthy. If cancer develops, flying is still possible, but now you'll be navigating the Special Issuance airspace.

First, check to see if the drug is on the white list or the black list. See the AOPA website for these lists.

Assuming it is OK to fly on this drug, go fly and remember to report it on the next Medical renewal. -Skip

As Aggie points out Tamoxifen is on the allowed but "needs status report" requirement. Absent a diagnosis of cancer NOW, I see no reason that you need to stop flying. It's a report on the next medical type issue. You should however not fly for the first few days while taking the medication just to assure that there is no adverse reaction.

When you do go for your next medical you will need that status report and it should include the statement of no indication of cancer.