Tach/Hobbs

dans2992

En-Route
Display Name

Display name:
Dans2992
So I was renting a Seneca from a flight school for training. The first one I was in had a Hobbs meter connected to the master - no problem.

Then the flight school got a new one. It did not come with a Hobbs meter, so the owner decides to use "tach x 1.3" until he gets the Hobbs meter installed.

I go on a XC flight that was 4.1 hours according to my watch. Tach x 1.3 comes out to 4.7 hours. Tach time on each engine was within .02 of the other engine.

I bring this up to the flight school owner and he says "that's industry standard, I've been doing this for 20 years......". Basically "don't question me". I tried to explain that it depends on how much "ground time" vs. cruise, etc, and that I think "tach time" is calibrated at 100% = 2300 RPM, so if you run at 2400 or 2500, you're actually paying _more_ than clock time.

He somewhat acknowledged this, but then basically said "it's industry standard, nobody else is complaining, and it's the best we have until a Hobbs meter is installed"

At this point, it was not worth fighting about because I was just going to get my multi and be done with it. He does have the cheapest multis in the area.

Thoughts? I flew the other plane for the rest of the training as much as I could.

Tach time isn't time, it's a number of revolutions divided by some reference revolutions per hour number. There's nothing that says billed time has to equal flight time. 1.3 x Tach is a common fudge. How accurate it comes to depends on where the reference point is versus how you set your power settings. If you run around in what we call "Full Rental Power" you'll chalk up more tach time than if you maintain a lower power setting.

Note that neither the tach nor hobbs really depicts flight time or time in service in most cases. You can use your watch but the FAA will accept the paid for flight time.