Summer Weather in Florida - VFR ?

jhempel

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
jhempel
I am wanting to make a weekend trip to (BCT) Boca Raton, Florida. The weather for the return trip on Sunday looks threatening. I need some weather advice from local pilots down there.

My plan was to fly early for the trip down and back. I am hoping that the weather I am seeing in the forecast is the typical afternoon thundershowers that Florida gets in the summer. Is this the case on Sunday?

I know I will need to get a briefing from Flight Service, but I would appreciate input from the locals who fly it regularly.

This is a VFR flight from the ATL area to South Florida.

I'm no Florida expert--but I have been there a couple times and have flown around locally some while avoiding the daily pop-up thunderstorms. From what I could tell--you could count on small thunderstorms popping up all over, more-so along the coast, around 1pm. Either wait them out or avoid them.

Once again though, I really have no clue what I'm talking about when it comes to Florida flying....

Flying in FL means getting comfortable with being around T-storms. They are always there in some form. Understand the WX patterns on the east and west side of state. I have made VMC flights up the west coast while there are major t-storms on the east.

Shoot I even did a flight to Lakland from SRQ in great calm conditions while the first rain band from a hurricane was hitting West Palm Beach.

While flying low it can be bumpy to very bumpy depending on the time of day. I liked flying IFR up higher. That had two advantages. One the lack of bumps but two the lack of students flying around. There is tons of flight training going on and it can be very busy between 2 and 5 thousand feet. Heading up above 6 thousand tends to get you away from some of the bees nests. Plus there is military traffic, high speed military traffic so FF or IFR is a nice plus for traffic avoidance.