Subdural hematoma: physician obligated to inform FAA when patient is a pilot?

U

Unregistered

I'm a regular poster here who recently (about 2 weeks ago) suffered an acute traumatic subdural hematoma, treated surgically. My condition is much improved but I still have a long way to go before I'm 100% again. I'm currently in inpatient rehab. Before anyone jumps in with accusations, I am OF COURSE self grounding indefinitely, until I'm healthy again and can obtain recertification from the FAA. I have no intention of hiding anything from the agency that I am required to reveal.

My question though is in regards to the rehab agency director's stated intention to inform the FAA of my medical condition, against my express wishes, because he happens to know that I am a private pilot (3rd class med cert only). He claims that the rehab agency's lawyers have counseled him to do just that (though he apparently made some initial anonymous inquiries to the FAA on his own). I am furious because I do not want to have to deal with this now, indeed want to leave the Sport Pilot option open. My understanding is that if OKC demands my certificate, that is effectively a denial or at least a revocation, and forecloses the Sport Pilot option. But even if I decide to pursue recertification, I have no desire at this time to engage in any kind of back and forth with OKC. I would like to work on my health first and worry about flying later.

So my questions are:

1. Is the rehab agency correct? Do they have an obligation to report to the FAA or is this, as I suspect, a blatant HIPAA violation?

2. If it is not a HIPAA violation, how can I best protect my future options?

3. If it is a HIPAA violation, what is my best option to protect myself against it? I am currently under their care, so hiring an attorney to represent myself against them doesn't sound like a very wise course of action, to say the least. :eek: