Student pilot loans

U

Unregistered

Fellow pilots,

A few month back I graduated from Embry-Riddle and just recently got my first pilot job. As much as I'm glade to have the unique opportunity to get paid for my hobby, financially things are becoming difficult. I will soon need to start paying off all the loans I took out for my training which with my low salary isn't going to be easy. I am hoping that there is someone here who experience a similar situation and could potentially give me an advice to help solve my problem.

Right now I'm searching for banks that could refinance my loans this way I could be paying back one single loan, hopefully with a lower APR. Would anyone be able to recommend a good bank for this purpose?
I have also heard that there are government programs that let you pay a certain percentage of your salary but I have not been able to find anything concrete. Does anyone know any more about this?

Thanks in advance

Rob

Sell your sperm and whore yourself out. Good luck, we're all counting on you.

Man, I feel for you. This should be a sticky. Unfortunately, we all see the variations on this post over and over, on every aviation forum, going back for years. Like this one:

Embry Riddle: to go or not to go

Good for you so far ... you got hired in aviation with a ERAU degree. Hope you can pay it off.

How much are you in for?

Last edited:
I coulda given you some GREAT advice about 4 years ago. Dont buy stuff, including (or maybe especially) an education that you cant afford. If you have to take out loans for it, you cant afford it.

Time to get a second or a better paying job and dig yourself out of the hole you put yourself in.

Going forward, dont make the hole any bigger by buying things on credit.