Student Landings

iamgregh

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
IamGregh
Hello all, I am a Student Pilot at about 50 hours here ready to do my Night XC and then move on to my Stage II check and then Solo XC.
I am flying the Liberty XL-2 that is owned by the USAF Aero Club here in Okinawa Japan. I love this plane!
But when landing I am having some issues of rudder control in a crosswind, for example when I am on final and just about to flare I feel like I need to step on the left rudder to get the airplane straight, but my Instructor is always telling me "Right Rudder, Right Rudder" and of course he is usually correct. I am not sure what I am doing wrong that my perspective is skewed to "think" I need left rudder. I have many landing under my belt at this point but this I feel like I don't know what I am doing wrong at this point. Any tips would be appreciated.

Parallax causes trouble with the perceived straightness of the plane. Next time you are sitting in the plane look from your centerline to the glare shield to the edge of the cowling and make a note of the rivets/screws that are right in front of you and use that extended view to know what's straight. Folks often look at the spinner and make incorrect adjustments because of that.

Also, remember your slow flight practice? More right rudder needed... That's the landing situation too unless the wind is from the right.

Just look out front and see what's correct. Fly over the rwy. Have the CFI do the throttle and yoke you practice rudder work with large changes decreasing to smaller ones till he tells you your straight.

You may be thinking too much about the process, instead of the desired result. You want the longitudinal axis of the airplane to be aligned with your direction of flight/rollout. When landing, your best indicator that a correction is needed is the orientation of the nose.