Stratus 1 used v stratus 2 new

Pjsmith

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
pjsmith
I fly vfr but have occasional trips long enough that I would like weather in the cockpit. I had hoped to find a 'sale' of the stratus ii at Osh, but it didn't seem to materialize. So I'm on to thinking about buying a used first version.

I guess my thinking is that I can probably get a used one in eBay right about at 1/2 of what a new ii would cost. I know v1 doesn't have some features, but as a vfr pilot I'm wondering if I'd miss those or not. Anyone here in a similar boat? What would you do? And, am I missing a value proposition that makes the ii worthwhile?

Hi

We are neighbors (almost). I fly out of KPWK. I had a Status 1 and loved it. I sold it to someone on this Board. You can get them on Ebay. Last one sold for $540 on September 15 including shipping, no case no other items. I sold mine for $500 plus shipping, and included a case and Ram mount with it, which were about $50 at Sporty's. I think the guy who purchased mine got a fair price. Without the case and Ram Mounts, they should go between $450 and $500 which most of them do on Ebay. I advise you purchase with PayPal since you get buyer protection.

I had a Stratus 1 which I bought in January or February and hardly used. I really liked it, but I preferred the 2 as it is smaller and had the Attitude Indicator option and the 2 band traffic. The thing about the 1 is you have to keep it out of sunlight, i.e. don't put on dash or they say it can overheat. I used to keep mine on the back seat and didn't have issues with reception. I did buy the Ram mount to suction to a side window, but never used it as I didn't have reception issues.

As I am in instrument training, the Stratus 1 would have been fine. But I was given some $$ as a gift toward the 2 so decided to buy the 2 and sell the 1. I don't think you are really missing any big deals for VFR flight by getting the 1.

Hope this helps....