Ssri route - advice on approach

• Thread starter Sport to private?
  • Start date
S

Sport to private?

First, I am a happy sport pilot.

I had a major depressive episode 30 years ago (divorce), treated with ssri alone.

had low level depression 15ish years ago briefly ssri treated, then recurrence 8 years ago and on steady ssri dose since with no problems or symptoms. I am now switching to a different ssri to comply with those (potentially) compatible with the faa.

I’ve never been suicidal or hospitalized nor had poly pharmacy, except for trazodone for sleep problems unrelated to depression and gabapentin for a nerve problem now resolved (and off the Med >1 yr). Both were prescribed by my psych, though. So, not straightforward exactly.

my question is if anyone has personal experience or knowledge of services like aopa or leftseat.com in helping to judge this situation for application for SI under the ssri rules? Obviously, don’t want to risk losing the sport pilot, so am looking for recs on a service that can evaluate before I submit to faa.

thanks for any recommendations!

Have an unofficial "consult" with an AME. That is, get an appointment with one, but do NOT submit any FAA paperwork to actually apply for a 3rd class through MedXpress yet.

If the AME's in your area are anything like the ones around here, they (or rather the person who picks up the phone when you call) may ask you to fill out and submit a MedXpress form before you arrive. If this happens, politely explain that you don't want to fill out that form yet, you just want an appointment to talk (consult) with the AME. If they try to tell you that you *must* fill out the MedXpress first, thank them for their time, and hang up and look for another AME.