Spin Training in St. Louis

dillardrg

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
Ron Dillard
Hi Guys,

I am new to the forum and would like to introduce myself. My name is Ron Dillard, I am a retired corporate pilot (flew Falcons since 1984) and went back to my roots on retirement.
I offer Tailwheel Checkouts and Spin Training from 1H0 near St. Louis. You can check out my web site at: http://www.advancedtailwheeltraining.com.

Thanks,

Last edited:
Hi Guys,

I am new to the forum and would like to introduce myself. My name is Ron Dillard, I am a retired corporate pilot (flew Falcons since 1984) and went back to my roots on retirement.
I offer Tailwheel Checkouts and Spin Training from 1H0 near St. Louis. You can check out my web site at: http://www.advancedtailwheeltraining.com.

Thanks,

Welcome to the board!!

Nice site!

Though this may cause some discussion:

LANDING
The normal landing in a Taildragger is a Full Stall or Three Point landing. These terms are nearly interchangeable and are descriptive of the attitude of the airplane as it touches the runway. It is fully stalled and both main tires and the tailwheel touch at the same time (sometimes the tailwheel touches first).

:skeptical:

Last edited:
Hi Dan,

Thanks for the welcome and thanks for reading my site. I don't follow your comment. Can you be more specific?

Thanks,

Hi Dan,

Thanks for the welcome and thanks for reading my site. I don't follow your comment. Can you be more specific?

Thanks,

We had a long discussion on "full stall" vs "3 point" a few weeks back (http://www.pilotsofamerica.com/forum/showthread.php?t=33880&highlight=full+stall)

My issue was that few tailwheels will actually stall in the 3 point position, and that the term causes unnecessary confusion.

(When I did my tailwheel transition in the Chief I was waiting for the wing to stall -- never did...but we rolled on quite nicely at 36 MPH or so in the 3 point position)

Dan,