Software License Advice

SkyHog

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
Everything Offends Me
So as Pilot FreeStuff continues to be developed (and I am starting to kick ass a little bit, I'm happy), I am looking for software licenses to release the software under.

I've looked at GNU GPL, but its an awful lot like a virus in that it spreads, and I don't like that. Plus, it is open source, and I do not want to release the code with this.

I've also looked at the BSD license, which is much better, but still requires open source.

I've thought about writing my own license, but I'm not too good with legalese. Here's what I am looking for in a license:

Software remains closed source.
Software remains free of cost forever, as does any addons for it
Software must be distributed from only trusted sources, cannot be freely distributed.

I also want to add something about not being liable for damages caused by the software to either the hardware or the software currently installed. Also - any loss of data should be covered as well.

I think that's everything.

SkyHog said:
Plus, it is open source, and I do not want to release the code with this.

Why? I think people fear open source for the wrong reasons. Most developers that feel they want to help with the project will come straight to you. They'll go through you. It'll all be pretty.

If you decide to be an asshat they might fork off (XFree86 vs. X.org) for example. The only time this ever really happens and over rides the main project is when the lead dude turns into an asshat.

Don't be an asshat. Problem solved :)

Keep in mind that most software licenses are extremelly difficult to enforce. It does not matter what you have it will likely be violated and you will have little recourse to prosecute for damages.

jangell said: