Social Anxiety

U

Unregistered

Hello,

I know I am opening myself up to criticism here, but I have been looking around this site and I feel like most of you here are more helpful than judgmental, so I will take the chance. I also really like that I can ask my question here before signing up, so thank you for your help ahead of time.

My Story:
A few years ago I graduated from college and got a job in an excellent start-up company doing research and development. The culture was great and the work was exciting. Despite this I had a really hard time connecting with my coworkers and it was beginning to interfere with my career. I went to talk to a psychiatrist and he told me that he believed I had social anxiety or social phobia and wanted to treat me with a combination of medication and therapy. For a few years I was taking Adderall and learning that the rejection I feared was not realistic. The adderall made me talkative and made me want to connect with people. So I put myself out there and no one made fun of me or killed me and slowly we ramped down my dose, and I have not needed it for quite some time.

My Question:
Does my previous use of adderall disqualify me from flying?

Just to clarify, I have never had any issues with attention of hyperactivity, and I would say that I am cured of my social anxiety. Thanks again for your thoughts.

... The adderall made me talkative and made me want to connect with people. .....

I'm sure the doc will be along shortly to answer your question

But, doesn't beer do the same thing?

I dont know if your shrink makes a commission, but couldn't you have had the same result if your shrink told you to go out to a busy bar and have a few??

Seems like we like over medicating in this country

Get with Dr. Bruce Chien off forum for direct help and guidance on what to do and obtain.

If you find a past post fom him, the email link in his signature works. His website is www.aeromedicaldoc.com