SoCal flying advice needed...

PeterDudek

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
PeterDudek
I'm a 100 hour student pilot taking my checkride this Friday.

One of the reasons I decided to become a pilot was to avoid driving through the LA area to get to San Diego.

Now that I'm getting close to being able to do that I realize just how complex the area is.

My question for you is: "What advice would you give a new pilot who wants to begin making trips through the LA area to land in the San Diego area?

Thank you in advance!

You don't say which direction you're coming from, but 11500ft may be your friend.

Gibbs at KMYF is what I use. KSAN is actually GA-friendly if you're headed downtown.

The LAX transition routes on the back of the LA TAC are all easy -- the easiest is the SFRA. Take them one at a time, study the bejeesus out of them before flying.

Get flight following for the ENTIRE route. The controllers are super helpful. Mention "student pilot" and they'll be nice to you and keep you out of trouble. They'll do it without the code word too.

get a moving map GPS if you dont have one already. It's comforting. :)

I guess that's part of the advice I need...which airport in San Diego would be best for a new pilot to use for his first flights into the area?

Can depend on alot of things like time of day, your comfort level with talking on the radio...etc.

Where in SD do you need to go?

MYF is probably the most convenient GA airport to most things in the San Diego area. Controllers are generally friendly, but traffic can be pretty busy at times, so you'd definitely need to have your head on a swivel. And be clear and concise in your radio transmissions.

If traffic intimidates you, Brown Field (SDM) is the most benign. Long runway and not very busy.