Single Engine Add On questions

Jeffreyac

Filing Flight Plan
Display Name

Display name:
Jeffreyac
Hi all,

I feel a little silly, but as I used to tell my students - when you don't know something basic, and can't find the answer, you've got two choices: 1) remain ignorant, or 2) suck up the ego and ask the stupid question!

I'm a military pilot, with just under 4000 hours total time, including instructor and evaluator experience, so I'm not exactly new to aviation. Trouble is, I have no civilian experience whatsoever - never flown anything but military multiengine jets. I've recently had the opportunity to complete my military equivalency exam, which gained me my instrument, commercial, and multiengine civilian ratings, and I've also recently passed my ATP knowledge test (I've got a training opportunity, again through work, that may allow me to complete the ATP practical while I get checked out in the airplane we use at my current assignment...)

That's a long history, but I wanted you to know where I was... My problem is, I'd really like to get checked out in a single engine airplane, and be able to take the wife flying on nice weekends - and I'm having some difficulty with this most basic of tasks...

My understanding, after spending some time in the regs, is that I need to:

1) Go get access to a single engine aircraft and an instructor, and gain enough time to get:
2) an endorsement from said instructor saying I'm 'competent in aeronautical knowledge' and 'proficient in areas of operation' for the class rating (single engine land), and then:
3) take (and pass) a practical test for said rating.

Presenting proof of a passing practical test (wow, a lot of P's in that sentence) to the FSDO, if I understand it, gains me the single engine addition on my certificate - do I have this right? Is this basically the process?