Simulator time

cocolos

Pre-takeoff checklist
Display Name

Display name:
cocolos
I am thinking of going for IFR and had a couple of questions to those that have done so:
How much of your IFR training was done in a simulator? Did you already have the 50 hr XC PIC time? I am seeing if I could plan out to do it in 3 months +- a month or so.

I'm just starting out. My program is the Jeppesen part 141. This seems like a decent system as it allows you to avoid the requirement 50 hours of cross country. I think it's a 35 hour program and 10 of those ours can be in a PC-FTD (PC Flight Training Device, like flight sim). I'm intending to use most all of those hours. Sim time is only $20, and there's the advantage of being able to just reset the simulation and hone down on an approach or hold or whatever.

PIC brings a desktop simulator to their students (an ancient ATC-610 when I did it, but I hear they're going to the arguably worse Redbirds these days). We used it for one morning session to explain scanning and their command-performance flight control settings. It was used sparingly a couple of days further to teach holds and ADF use (I have no ADF in my plane). But after the first few days, we left it in the box.

PIC brings a desktop simulator to their students (an ancient ATC-610 when I did it, but I hear they're going to the arguably worse Redbirds these days). We used it for one morning session to explain scanning and their command-performance flight control settings. It was used sparingly a couple of days further to teach holds and ADF use (I have no ADF in my plane). But after the first few days, we left it in the box.

Not trying to hijacked the thread but, Worse redbird? Why do you say that? I am not agreeing or disagreeing, just curious.

How much of your IFR training was done in a simulator?