Setting Personal Minimums

Apache123

Line Up and Wait
Display Name

Display name:
Hey, Steve!
Friday I have a trip from Waukegan down along the shoreline towards gary, then to Fort Wayne Indiana. I've set some personal minimums at 2500' ceilings and 5mi visibility. What are you guys thoughts on snow? I'm a VFR pilot, and I know that rain can recuce visibility to zero pretty quick, but snow? I'm not so much familiar with it in flight.

If reported visibility is 6mi with light or moderate snow, should that be a no-go (i.e. will light or moderate snow impact visibility that much off of the reported)?

Being VFR I figured I'd ask in here.

Friday I have a trip from Waukegan down along the shoreline towards gary, then to Fort Wayne Indiana. I've set some personal minimums at 2500' ceilings and 5mi visibility. What are you guys thoughts on snow? I'm a VFR pilot, and I know that rain can recuce visibility to zero pretty quick, but snow? I'm not so much familiar with it in flight.

If reported visibility is 6mi with light or moderate snow, should that be a no-go (i.e. will light or moderate snow impact visibility that much off of the reported)?

I think that snow impacts visibility as much as rain, if not more at some times. Just think about what it's like when you look outside your window and it's snowing.

The couple times I've found myself in snow it's looked more like haze than rain. So if you'd be comfortable (or at least willing to try) 6 miles in haze, I should think that you would be alright with 6 miles in snow. It may be heavier in localized areas, but much like rain you can see where those localized areas are and stay out of them.

The bigger concern would be having the icing discussion. It may still be doable, but you'd want to know exactly why it's doable before launching into it.