Seminole vs Duchess

Fearless Tower

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
Fearless Tower
Anyone flown both care to comment on how they stand up to each other?

I've never been inside a Seminole. Got 100 hrs in the BE-76 and found it a fairly capable airplane for what I have used it for (weekend family trips).

I've been unable to find any 6 seat rentals available near me, so my options are: get checked out locally in a PA44 or BE76 or drive more than an hour to rent an SR22. I'm leaning toward the Duchess since I know the airframe well and know I can haul the family in it, but curious how the Seminole compares.

If anyone knows of a 6 seat single or twin for rent in the Norfolk area, please let me know.

As a trainer I liked the 76 because of cabin size and the spin recovery testing that Beech performed. I'd probably vote the same for personal use. The handling characteristics and light weight of the Seminole caused it to feel a toy.

Anyone flown both care to comment on how they stand up to each other?

I've never been inside a Seminole. Got 100 hrs in the BE-76 and found it a fairly capable airplane for what I have used it for (weekend family trips).

I've been unable to find any 6 seat rentals available near me, so my options are: get checked out locally in a PA44 or BE76 or drive more than an hour to rent an SR22. I'm leaning toward the Duchess since I know the airframe well and know I can haul the family in it, but curious how the Seminole compares.

If anyone knows of a 6 seat single or twin for rent in the Norfolk area, please let me know.

The handling characteristics and light weight of the Seminole caused it to feel a toy.
Interesting. That is one thing I really liked about the Duchess. Very solid feeling and stable aircraft. It was a great IFR platform.

like wayne said, the seminole is a piper arrow in both speed and room, except it uses more gas than an arrow.