Self-setting, persistent screen saver

Let'sgoflying!

Touchdown! Greaser!
Display Name

Display name:
Dave Taylor
I have a Dell computer & screen, and it has suddenly started to flash a screensaver unbidden by anyone.
The screensaver comes on after a few moments and flashes a variety of full-screen solid colors, for a duration of 3 seconds each. Blue Green Purple Red Orange Turquoise. Hitting the space bar makes it go away for a while.

I have gone to settings>control panel>display>screen saver......and 'None' is selected.

I have selected other screensavers, and then restarted the computer -- then gone back to 'None', and restarted.....to no avail.

I have gone through the screen menu itself and see no such options.

Is something entering a death spiral?

I'm not a real techie (I just play one on TV:aureola:).

First, run every virus checker and spyware checker you have access to. Make sure (as well as you can) that the computer is bug free.

Then, if the problem persists, go to the manufacturer, download and reinstall the appropriate video driver(s).

If that doesn't work, then I think it is likely that some hardware is going south on you. Sorry! :cryin:

-Skip

Check the connectors on the PC to monitor cable. You could have failing RAM, but I'd look for a loose connection first.

What makes you say it's a screen saver? Do you see anything besides a blank, colored screen?

What is the Dell model for the PC and monitor, Dave?

Dell's flash a color pattern like that in a diagnostic mode. Right click on your desktop, click Properties, go to the Settings tab, and give us a screen shot. Then click the Advanced button, click the Monitor tab, and give us another. The resolution being set too high, or the refresh rate too fast, can cause this.