Scrip for Nitroglycerin (not cardio)

U

Unregistered

I have been having trouble with GERD and have been seeing my doc. We have tried acid reducers (nexium, omeprazole) to no avail. I had my esophogus/stomach scoped and the results were clean, no evidence of scarring or inflamation, all biopsies came back negative.

My doc thinks that I might be having spasms in my esophogus. As a diagnostic test he would like me to take a nitro pill when I am having symptoms. I explained that I was a pilot, and feared that the scrip for nitro could jeapordize my 3rd class medical. He hand wrote the scrip rather than put it in the system electronically so there is no record if I don't get it filled, and advised me to find out if it is ok or not before filling.

So would this cause a problem when I go to get my nex 3rd class?

Thanks in advance

Yes it'll be a bit of touble, especially when the doctor writes a note that says you were prescribed Occasional NTG a a diagnostic maneuver to distinguish coronary disease from Esophageal disease.

The AME will likely call the county medical society to see if this guy is actually a doctor. You see, we use NTG to determine if it's CORONARY disease.

Go ask him directly for a treadmill, do not stop, do not pass GO. Go directly and get reaffirmed, or if it shows coronary ischemia it'll save your life.

Nitroglycerin has been proven to be useless as a diagnostic tool for coronary disease. The main reason is that it can relieve the pain of esophageal spasm and may not relieve angina. Depending on the circumstances it might be a good idea to get some type of stress test to assess episodes of chest discomfort. A simple treadmill test might suffice.