San Antonio (5C1) to Taos, NM (KSKX)

Ray F

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
Ray F
Hey all, I'm new to the forum. I'm a 30+hr ppl student. Anyway, when I finish up my ppl, one of the longer xc's that I'm going to want to tackle is 5C1 to KSKX. Me and my family like to ski and snowboard so this seems like a good spot to fly to. Reviews of the fbo are good, but I'm curious if anyone has flown in to there from my area or somewhere close by. And if so how was the flight? I know I'll be flying over lots of oil country but are there any surprises along the way? Thanks

Haven't flown the route from Texas, others here can provide a great deal of info about following I-20/I-10 and the hills in west Texas.

What type of airplane will you be flying?

You've got two major routes - NW thru Lubbock or Midland-Hobbs-Roswell. No matter your route there's major MOAs. With the Midland-Hobbs-Roswell route, you can stay at 6500 until Roswell. After that it's 8500 CNX-OTO-SAF-E14-SKX. No need for O2 unless you're not comfortable. Check when the MOAs are active - many of them are cold on the weekends. You're legal to fly thru the MOAs but be really careful.

Surprises? Only the cost of fuel.

Once you get to New Mexico, plan your flight coming up the valley from Sante Fe, do not try to fly over the mountains.

Plan your trip to Santa Fe and then fly up the valley to Taos if WX permits. If not, stop at SAF and drive the rest of the way. Terrain around the airport appears to be flat but it's tricky. Don't get suckered into flying lower than you should.