BlackManINC

Pre-Flight
Display Name

Display name:
Jabroni
Is anyone familiar with these performance charts in this PDF attachment? I understand it more or less, but I would like a blow by blow instruction on how to use it if possible, especially the landing performance chart.

Attachments

• Airport Analysis KMLI-KROC.pdf
    36 KB · Views: 165
It's been a long time since I was a B-727 flight engineer, but maybe I can help. The climb limits mentioned in the landing charts are no doubt for the all engines operating balked landing climb case. The approach limits are for the one engine inoperative climb at various flap settings. Be more specific if you want more.

dtuuri

I remember those. Kinda hard to explain the entire landing charts on here. If you've got any specific questions I can try to answer them. If I can remember that far back.

Just looking at it I think I know what it is. We use a similar chart in the KC-10. So it is specific to the airport. Across the top you have the runway you are using. Then you go down the sheet to the temperature at the airport. It will give you your max climb gradient, and the EPR POD I assume is the takeoff power setting to use. Then it gives you the max weight you can be to take-off and meet the climb gradient and what your V1 speed is. At the very bottom it gives your acceleration height. That's where you will select climb power and start cleaning up the airplane. That is all just going off my guess of what it is because it looked extremely similar to a chart we use but I could be wrong. In between the acceleration height and the weight/V1 I believe is how you add/subract weight and speeds for different things such as anti-ice on, anti-skid inop, etc.

Acceleration height, at least at our airline, is the altitude for level off in the event you lose an engine. They are usually runway specific due to obstacles in the later climb segments. You'll notice they are different for different runways.